Your kids aren’t a “get of work free pass” when the holidays roll around

7387633_f520

There’s a phenomenon in the workplace sometimes. Many of you who don’t have children have probably experienced it before. For some reason, every person with children automatically assumes that they’ll get the holiday off and everyone without kids can work! Which is total bullshit.

I have nothing to do with your children. They’re yours. They’re your responsibility. It is NOT my responsibility to come in and work every holiday so you can spend time with your kids, the same kids you see the other 364 days of the year.

Even though I don’t have kids, I still have a family. And sometimes they like to see me at holidays! Imagine that?! Crazy, I know.

But I am not going to sacrifice my time and my personal life because you decided to have kids. Get over it.

5 thoughts on “Your kids aren’t a “get of work free pass” when the holidays roll around

  1. This is a very good point. I suppose some might feel because they had to do it when they didn’t have kids, it’s somebody else’s turn, but I would say that if one felt that strongly about it getting holidays off they should have chosen a career that gave holidays off!

    1. Amen 😛

      I certainly don’t mind working holidays, and I don’t even mind covering for people…every once in awhile. It’s when this becomes a pattern that I feel people start to take advantage of the “I have kids” excuse.

Leave a Reply

