Why don’t we stop worrying about imaginary children and help ones that really exist

I am getting downright sick and tired of all of these “moral” arguments against abortion coming from Christians. And I’ll tell you why.

Christians love to denigrate people who are pro-choice based on their alleged moral superiority. The fact of the matter is, though, that not everyone is capable of dealing with, say, a disabled child. Or a child at all, for that matter. So what about adoption? That’s usually a popular response from the pro-life Christian crowd. I don’t see too many people rushing out to adopt crack babies, do you guys? Okay, that’s a rather blase statement I just made, but I’ll back it up with some numbers.

UNICEF estimates that there are 17,900,000 orphans who have lost both parents and are living in orphanages or on the streets in the world. According to Pew, there are 2.18 BILLION Christians in the world. So why don’t they all step up, then? Hmm? If only ONE PERCENT of Christians actually walked the walk, every orphan in the world would have a loving, Christian home.

In 2012, 23,396 youth aged out of the U.S. foster care system without the emotional and financial support necessary to succeed. There are about 130 million self-professed Christians in the US. And 23k of them couldn’t step up the plate and do the Christian thing? Seems pretty suspect to me. But we can do one better.

Every year in the world more people die from a lack of clean water than all forms of violence in the world–even war. The UN estimates that it would cost $10 billion a year to fix this problem. That’s less than what Americans spend feeding the family dog every year. It’s half of what Europeans spend annually on alcohol. The cost per year to end world hunger? $30 billion dollars. In the US alone, religious institutions dodge taxes to the tune of $71 billion annually. That’s enough to end world hunger, provide everyone with clean drinking water, and still have about $30 billion left over. So where does all that money go? Because it certainly isn’t going to actually solving any problems that are killing living children in the world right now.

And that’s what bugs me the most about these “moral” arguments. People of faith talk a good talk, but they can’t even put their money where their mouth is. It’s very easy to sit behind a bible and judge people and deliver sermons and quote scripture. But that won’t feed a hungry child. It won’t put a roof over a child’s head. So rather than lecture the world about how evil abortions are, why don’t all the Christians in the world lead by example and all adopt a child? Or end world hunger? Or give children clean drinking water? They’ll do everything they can to save a fertilized egg. But once you’ve already made it into this world? Screw you, you’re on your own!

So next time that collection plate comes around, Christians of the world, instead of putting that dollar in the collection basket so that the Vatican can pay off another child molestation scandal or so your mega Church pastor can get caught cheating on his wife with gay prostitutes on your dime (that last thing actually happened, by the way), or even so that you can build another Our Lady of Tax Evasion chapel down the street, put your money where it will actually make a difference. Try taking that church collection money to UNICEF and do some real good in this world for a real, living, suffering child.

adoptees

10 thoughts on “Why don’t we stop worrying about imaginary children and help ones that really exist

  1. The disconnect from what they say vs. what they do is appalling.

    I think their logo should be “do what I say, but don’t say what I do.”

    If you distilled down the entire congregation of any random church you would get 99% hypocrites and 1% con man.

    1. Shelldigger, those are some arrogant words. You can point fingers, but what are you doing to resolve the problems. I don’t know what the actual statistics are, but many of the Christians I know are doing their part (although it will never be enough) by giving their time and money, and some are adopting needy children. What are you doing?

      1. Honestly, I do not have the time or the resources to be of much help regarding the issue.

        However, neither do I go around beating the drum of what a fine (insert any religious denominational asshat here) I may be. I happen to be much too aware of my inability to solve the worlds issues. But I can sure as hell call B.S. when I see it.

        …and giving $$ to a church does not necessarily reflect how much help the church is actually giving. Ever see the books? …and while there are of course x-ians that do adopt children, and volunteer their time, those few that do walk the walk, are certainly overshadowed by those those that merely pay lip service. Pardon me while I point to Ryan’s chart.

        Arrogant, I don’t have any tattoos, but if I get one that might be it. Arrogant Atheist Asshole gives a whole new meaning to AAA.

  2. Wow, pretty strong language. What happened to the call for toning down the language and having a productive discussion?

    It’s interesting that you think that Christians think they’re morally superior and bash people who are pro-choice, yet you have no problem bashing Christians based on your own moral superiority. Why bash Christians when you’re just as guilty of what you’re accusing us of? However, as a Christian, I don’t claim moral superiority. Any morality that I adhere to comes as a result of being obedient and submissive to God. Not from anything intrinsic about myself. That’s what true Christianity is; it’s based on humility before God. Atheists, however, must draw their own moral superiority from within themselves because they don’t believe in an absolute truth or right and wrong. Their moral superiority is completely subjective and relative, and that’s arrogant and condescending. If you want to pit your own morality against us, then you’ll find yourself going up against God, and that’s a war you can’t win, no matter how superior you think your morality is compared to God.

    You can throw out numbers all day and blame Christians, but at least Christians are on the front lines of the battlefield. We are out there adopting babies and caring for those in need. We sacrifice our time and money throughout the entire year. Perhaps we don’t do enough, but that only speaks to our need for a savior who can redeem us from our sins and failures. It would be great if we Christians were perfect and never made mistakes. But, as sinful humans, that’s not possible, and we recognize that and put our faith, hope and trust in a loving, merciful God.

    You don’t seem to offer any solutions (other than Christians stepping it up). You sure can blame others, and I will gladly accept your criticism because I recognize a level of truth to it and want to be consistent with my faith. But leveling criticism at Christians isn’t going to resolve anything unless you get involved as well. Are you going to the people in need to help them? The churches I’m familiar with are doing exactly that. Is it enough? Of course not. It never will be. But at least we’re trying to make a difference, and many of us are putting up and doing exactly what you demand. And that’s why I will criticize Dawkins, Jerry Coyne , and other pro-choicers for their outrageous comments concerning the killing of the unborn (or born). Abortion isn’t the solution. It’s a problem that needs to be addressed, and Christianity is doing what it can in order to protect the child, as well as any victims and those in need. And if you don’t think Christians are putting up, then I urge you to hang out with me for a week so that I can show you what we’re doing and the progress we’re making.

    1. A) Nowhere in this piece did I claim to be morally superior to Christians. In fact, nowhere did I claim to be morally superior to anyone at all. I’m attacking Christians based on their hypocrisy and the inconsistency between their actions and their words–that has nothing to do with my own morality.

      B) I’m pretty sure I did offer some solutions. Like 1) adopting more children and 2) donating money to places that help children. How are those not solutions?

    2. I will admit that my language here was pretty inflammatory, though. For that I apologize. But this issue makes me very angry and stirs a lot of feelings within me.

      1. Thanks for your honesty. And apology accepted. This issue stirs a lot of feelings in me as well because I have been personally affected, and I love children and want to see them flourish and feel loved and wanted. My criticism was directed at Dawkins and Coyne and others who think that a baby with a disability isn’t worthy of life, or that Christians would rather women suffer than allow a baby to die. Christians believe such children have just as much value as any other human, and we don’t want anyone to suffer needlessly. We know we haven’t done enough, and that we need to do more. I wish it were easier to adopt, but it isn’t, and many Christians I know end up traveling overseas to adopt because American adoptions are so prohibitive. Christians should be leading the way, and I think we are, but we’re far from perfect. Adoption was even a large focus of the latest March for Life.

  3. JS…as an afterthought, I could adjust my hypocrite % a degree or two to account for the few x-ians that actually do walk the walk. They are few, but I have known some. My cynic do run over from time to time.

    But, you have to admit that you are playing the Home Version of the No True Scotsman Argument in return. 🙂

    Deal?

    1. Any honest criticism of the church is welcome, and I accept your cynicism. We’re not perfect and we can and should do much more. I admit that. But I don’t think I said anything fallacious, did I? I tried to distinguish between what Christianity teaches and the shortcomings of what Christians do in practice.

Leave a Reply

