The last paper

Folks, I just finished writing the last paper of my academic life. And I must say, I feel like a mixture of this…

Image

and this…

Image

Of course, this isn’t the first time I’ve uttered those words. When I finished my first degree I said the same thing. Then two years later I decided to go back to school. But this time I’m older, wiser, and more experienced. And there shall be no more school after this. I had entertained the idea of grad school up until this last year, but after much soul searching I’ve decided that it just isn’t in the cards for me anymore.

I just don’t feel compelled to continue to saddle myself with debt only to see no qualitative difference in my life. With my current education I’ll be able to live a very comfortable life, help people, and make a difference in my community. At this point in my life, I’m more interested in my philosophical and emotional well-being and less interested in my academic status. I’ve never been one to equate education with intellect or worth, and that belief has only solidified the older I’ve become. As I age, I’m more interested in exploring things that genuinely interest and excite me on my own terms and at my own pace.

And, perhaps most excitingly, as school concludes I’ve been presented with a very unique opportunity. Something I thought was a sure thing in terms of employment has recently gone the other direction, but when one doors closes, another one opens. Suffice it to say, there’s a very good chance that I may be able to use my education to do some entrepreneurial work that would be the perfect marriage of my two degrees. We’ll see what happens, and I’ll update you as things with that develop.

But for right now I’m ecstatic that I don’t have anymore stupid academic hoops to jump through. My coursework is officially done, and all I need to do now is basically show up for the last several weeks and focus on my learning. And that feeling is absolutely wonderful.

2 thoughts on “The last paper

Leave a Reply

