I’m going to get a lot of flack for this…

…but I really don’t understand the “big and beautiful” movement in this country. Don’t get me wrong, I think people should definitely be comfortable with their bodies. And I know that there are many different types of bodies in the world. That’s fine. But I really don’t understand this whole, “embrace your fatness” attitude sweeping the country. As a healthcare provider, I can’t help but cringe whenever someone makes the declaration that they’re essentially proud to be unhealthy.

I’d like to make an important distinction here. There’s a difference, socially and medically, between being overweight and being obese. But overall, I think it’s irresponsible and dangerous for media and the fashion industry to promote being overweight as a form of beauty.

3 thoughts on “I’m going to get a lot of flack for this…

  1. dayumn, i had a similar post some time back. really glad i found your blog, i’m enjoying myself here. don’t mind me reading through your older posts, i find them intellectually stimulating

    1. No worries! I’m glad someone finds it stimulating. I just followed your blog, so I’ll be perusing your old posts as well; should make the work day more interesting! 😛

  2. I agree people are always telling me that I shouldn’t advise people on their weight I don’t but if my 200 pound friend thinks she’s “embracing her natural beauty” by eating a Big Mac that could kill her then I do feel the need to comment

Leave a Reply

